Montgomery County Domestic Violence Attorneys
Representing Clients in Norristown & Beyond
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Pennsylvania, it is important to take immediate action. The sooner you talk to an experienced criminal defense lawyer, the better chance you have of avoiding the consequences of a conviction.
At Solomon, Berschler, Campbell & Thomas, P.C., we have more than 40 years of experience defending clients against domestic violence and other criminal charges. Our knowledgeable and skilled defense lawyers are skilled negotiators and strong trial advocates. We have the resources and track record of success to help you mount an effective defense.
Pennsylvania Domestic Violence Laws
Domestic violence in Pennsylvania is defined as an act of violence against a family or household member, romantic partners, or people who share a child. Although domestic violence is not a specific crime in the state, violent crimes or sex crimes involving domestic violence are punishable by enhanced penalties.
According to Pennsylvania law, law enforcement officials may arrest a person without a warrant if the officer has probable cause that the following crimes against a current or former spouse/romantic partner, a person he/she shares a child with, or a relative by blood or marriage:
- Simple assault
- Aggravated assault
- Reckless endangerment
- Terroristic threats
- Involuntary manslaughter
Not only can an arrest result in surrendering firearms and weapons to the police, but a defendant may be subject to a protective or restraining order. Violation of such orders can result in separate criminal penalties.
When police are called to the scene of an alleged domestic violence incident, they are likely to make an arrest. Even if the accuser tries to "take it back," law enforcement officials will not stop pursuing a conviction. Only state prosecutors have the authority to file criminal charges or drop the case following an arrest.
Penalties For Domestic Violence
Domestic violence charges carry harsh consequences. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence charge, you could be facing up to two years in jail, probation and significant fines. If you are convicted of a felony misdemeanor charge, than you could be facing up to 20 years in jail, probation and expensive fines. in addition to thos penalties, You could lose custody privileges, the right to enter your own home, and be legally barred from possessing a firearm.
A Trusted Defense Firm for Domestic Violence Cases
If you need help fighting a domestic violence charge or defending against a restraining order, our lawyers are here to provide you with the strong representation you need. Our legal team can listen to your story, examine the facts and circumstances of your case, and figure out all your legal options to get the most favorable result in court.
Call us today at (610) 624-2006 for experienced and compassionate legal representation.