Chances are, once you get a conviction for driving under the influence in Pennsylvania on your driving record, you hope to start putting your past behind you as soon as possible. For several reasons, though, you may find putting your conviction in your past particularly difficult. You may, too, find that the financial repercussions associated with your crime continue to haunt you long after your day in court.
As you may be well aware, a drunk driving conviction can cost you a substantial amount of money when all is said and done. This typically holds true regardless of whether you are a first-time offender or a repeat one. You can expect to have to pay fines that can range anywhere from a few hundred dollars to as much as $10,000, depending on circumstances. Also, you may have to pay to install and maintain an ignition interlock device on your vehicle if you have driven while drunk in the past.
While all these expenses can make a serious dent in your wallet, Insure.com attests that you can also expect to have to pay notably more for automotive insurance once you start driving again after a drunk driving conviction. Just how much more may you have to fork over to your insurance provider each year in exchange for coverage?
A significant increase
Pennsylvania motorists convicted for driving under the influence can count on watching their insurance premiums spike more than 50% in the wake of a DUI. If your driving record was otherwise pretty average before your arrest, you may have paid about $1,438 annually for automotive insurance. After your DUI, though, you can anticipate paying roughly $2,192 per year for insurance coverage, which is $754 more a year than you paid prior.
Paying substantially more to insure yourself can be tough, but in some cases, so, too, can finding an insurer who will cover you at all once you drink and drive. Your current insurer may choose not to cover you anymore, in which case you may need to go back to the drawing board to find a provider willing to work with you.